Happy Blogday

It’s now a year since I started this blog, and good fun it’s been too (for me at least). There’s something very satisfying about writing a post, particularly when it concludes and summarizes some piece of work. I’ve also found the blog useful for my own reference, when I’ve forgotten the details of something I did some months ago.

A few numbers; 63 posts, 139 comments. Right now, the blog’s had 15,823 visits, which I’m pretty pleased with. Not much, however, compared with John Walkenbach’s 973,794 visitors (we prostrate ourselves before Your Excel-lency). I’m also pleased with my position (which modesty prevents me from mentioning) on Googling “VBA blog”.

Perennial favorite post is ByRef and ByVal – maybe because there’s some desperate Googling going on with those as search terms. The recent posts on Performance issues seem to have attracted some interest too (thanks for the comments, guys).

What Next for Modern Man? Well, I still have to look at Andy Pope’s Ribbon tool. And I’ve been experimenting with getting XML data out of Excel – this ties in with my interest in DITA/XML documentation – and generally using Excel as a front-end. More anon.

4 Responses to “Happy Blogday”


  1. 1 Dick Kusleika January 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Happy Blogday and keep up the great posts!

  2. 2 dougaj4 January 26, 2010 at 2:50 am

    Happy Blogday Roy (and Happy ‘straya day from down here too).

    Congratulations on nabbing No 1 spot for “VBA Blog”. I can’t quite match you with “Excel Blog”, but No 4 spot’s not too shabby I suppose 🙂

  3. 3 JP January 26, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Congrats, looking forward to more VBA goodness.

  4. 4 best basketball shoes January 28, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started
    and set up my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

